Home » SQL & PL/SQL » SQL & PL/SQL » PL/SQL procedure issue (Windows)
PL/SQL procedure issue [message #667595] Sun, 07 January 2018 23:08 Go to next message
nicolewells
Hello All, I'm new to Oracle PL/SQL and have been trying to run this code but only getting the following message - PL/SQL procedure successfully completed.

SQL> DECLARE
v_num NUMBER:=10;
BEGIN
FOR v_num IN 1..3
LOOP
    DBMS_OUTPUT.PUT_LINE(v_num);
END LOOP;
END;

Help me on this,

Regards
Nicolewells

[EDITED by LF: removed link]

[Updated on: Mon, 08 January 2018 00:07] by Moderator

Report message to a moderator

Re: PL/SQL procedure issue [message #667596 is a reply to message #667595] Sun, 07 January 2018 23:18 Go to previous messageGo to next message
BlackSwan
it works OK for me

SQL> SET SERVEROUTPUT ON
SQL> DECLARE
v_num NUMBER:=10;
BEGIN
FOR v_num IN 1..3
LOOP
END LOOP;
END; 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 /

PL/SQL procedure successfully completed.

SQL>
Re: PL/SQL procedure issue [message #667597 is a reply to message #667596] Mon, 08 January 2018 03:38 Go to previous messageGo to next message
msol25
hi nicolewells,

you have to execute command "set serveroutput on" before running the script.
Re: PL/SQL procedure issue [message #667645 is a reply to message #667597] Tue, 09 January 2018 07:02 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Bill B
please be aware that the "set serveroutput on" is a SQL*PLUS command
Re: PL/SQL procedure issue [message #667648 is a reply to message #667645] Tue, 09 January 2018 07:13 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Littlefoot
Account Moderator
Right; but this OP's line:

SQL> DECLARE

suggests that he *is* using SQL*Plus.

Besides, SET SERVEROUTPUT ON works in Oracle SQL Developer and is *required* if you want to see something. I thought that there must be some icon (button) that does that, but couldn't find it - you have to literally type that command. As if GUI emulates SQL*Plus as much as it can.