Home » Developer & Programmer » Forms » No image on an Iconic Button
No image on an Iconic Button [message #112516] Sat, 26 March 2005 08:14 Go to next message
Cuypman
Hi everyone,

I'm relatively new at Oracle Forms Developer 9 and I have a question about iconic buttons.

As been instructed in school I added my work directory (i.e. D:\Projects\) to my registry-value for UI_ICON and FORMS90_PATH. Next I created a form and placed a Push Button on a new canvas. I set it to iconic and filled in the icon filename (i.e. img_article). The image in D:\Projects is called img_article.gif and as been told in school yet again, the extension must be dropped. (note: i also tried it with a .jpg file)

Thinking I played it by the rules so far, I compiled the form and ran it, but what happened? Nothing. The window shows with the canvas and the button, but no image, nor a label on the button, so I'm positive it is an iconic button.

Thinking it might have to do with using gif-files (although that shouldn't be a problem), i tried a .ico file from d:\oradev\reports\plugins\resource\ and noticed that the icon is shown on the button during design time. During runtime however, the button remains blank yet again.

Due to my limited knowledge of Forms Developer so far, this is the only thing I could come up with thus far. If someone could explain me what exactly went wrong, what I missed and how I might be able to solve this problem, that would be very much appreciated.

Sincerely yours,

Maarten
Re: No image on an Iconic Button [message #113138 is a reply to message #112516] Thu, 31 March 2005 02:16 Go to previous messageGo to next message
djmartin
Account Moderator
Okay. In 9i Form Builder the icons need to be '.ico' files and for the run time they need to be '.gif' files.

Unfortunately there is more than one type of '.gif' file definition.